Dennis Diehl and takes on the sexually repressive historic WCG

thumbnail_mem_pics(Editor’s note: Call him what you will. Contrarian. A man who loves to stir the pot. Rabble rouser and proud of it. Of all the comments suggested, you must appreciate the fact that former WCG minister Dennis Diehl makes you think. Yes, he does take you out of your own comfort zone and when he does it you are a better and sharper thinker for it. Co-equally and co-essentially, he is a man of compassion. During the Christmas season, on Gavin’s blog,  one poster gave his candid feelings about his prolonged singleness for many years due to the restrictive policies and practices of the historic WCG which effected him psychologically and naturally frustrated this person sexually. Dennis response is compassionate.  Dennis does not make jokes like, “It is my understanding from studies that a wife will cost you about the same as a nice new fuel efficient car.Are you sure that you wouldn’t want the car instead?At least, when it’s working right, a car will take you where you want to go.”  Which was actually told (as I said not by Dennis) but being a polite Canadian I followed along with some responses (while I was exploding mad inside). Frankly, the joke is extremely insensitive, especially from someone who has been married for a long time and has purely no concept of understanding the frustrations of being single.  Dennis does not make another cruel condescending comment like, “Sex and marriage isn’t cracked up what it supposed to be!” Or other silly statements like, “Pray more! Serve the brethren more!” Just read what the poster says and what Dennis reponds. You might not agree with everything he says but is at least reflective, respectful and sympathetic.) 

 

 

 Anonymous said…  

Dennis Diehl,You have opened up some WCG wounds of mine on this Solstice Holiday.Having grown up weird in the WCG and left when I was 20, I never found “the wife of my youth”. Part of it was the WCG cult teaching that we were not to marry outside our cult. I didn’t attend AC (thankfully) so the opportunity to find a mate within the cult was nil. I felt inferior (“weak of the world”, a “base thing”) and took me another 20 years to overcome after I left the cult.Therefore, I had no real sex life throughout what should have been the most productive period of my life. To this day, I never married and I remain unmarried. I never had a regular healthy sex life and I do attribute it mostly to the WCG and my upbringing.Why did Terry Ratzmann go on his shooting rampage in Milwaukee? What were the 9/11 terrorists promised as their ultimate reward? Both answers: Sex.My understand of what I have read about Ratzmann was that he was frustrated by not having a wife (with sex implied). I believe Ratzmann was age 44, and well past his sexual prime.Not everything written in the Bible is bad. A Proverb that has always stayed with me all these years is the Proverb “Hope deferred makes the heart sad”. For me, and perhaps many others, the long postponement of one of life’s most intimate enjoyable physical pleasures can make the heart sad.

Thanks Dennis for understanding. I respect the fact that you are the ONLY WCG ex-minister with the integrity to post here under your own name, and your posts have been very helpful to me.

Name witheld by Editor

Dennis Diehl responds

Hi ——–

Thank you for your kind comments and I am very sorry for the pain that has come in hindsite with your church associations.

First of all..you thought you were doing the right thing at the time. So don’t be the monkey on your own back anylonger in this issue.

People don’t even talk about such things in most churches, much less address or solve them. My mind turns off these days when advice contains the words “should” or “must.”

There are more ways to develope relationships that just those expounded by the rather Talibanish OT and NT.

Terry R was no doubt torn between his need for touch and intimacy and “the rules.” He struck out, wrongly so, against the symbols of his pain.

Humans were never meant to be celebate and I find that Paul probably was, not because he was such a stud with character for his cosmic Christ, but that he was unlucky in love and hung up on the rules, fear, guilt and shame. I believe Gerald Waterhouse was married for four months once. I see similarities in mentality in he and Paul. I bet there were similar “problems” that went with it.

I’ll stick my neck out here and say,I am not the same person I was just a few years back. I believe in “intimate friends” and those I know who also do are the most balanced, happy, openly communicative with partners and mates that I know. They are not hung up on should and must. None of them allow a church to define their life experiences or lack of them. They all were once in churches and none are now. They are happier by far.

I guess I can only say so much on an open blog concerning these things. Give me a call and we can chat. Contrary to Tom’s ideas, today means little to me except that I know the sun is coming back and we aren’t going to be plunged into eternal darkness (hey think about that analogy!)

We all put portions of our brains and lives on hold for religious ideals. It’s done all over the planet. How will the dead suicide bomber feel when he finds all the virgins have left town or there are none left for him?

While it might take not doing so for a time, learning to think for oneself and then act on it regardless of the opinions of others is a freedom most never experience in life.

http://dennisdiehl.com/

 

9 thoughts on “Dennis Diehl and takes on the sexually repressive historic WCG

  1. What is Dennis Diehl these days? Is he an ex-Christian? I wonder because his comment about the “Talibanish” Old and New Testaments somewhat took me aback (even as the Richard Dawkins part of me was cheering). Or is he a non-fundamentalist Christian?

  2. I have always personally branded him New Age but it is obvious that his philosophy of spirituality is definately Eastern mysticism.

  3. I think it’s more likely that “anonymous” is just a loser and wants to blame others for his ineptitude. Yep, I’m convinced of it.

    I am all for personal repsonsibility but I also believe in the saying,”Don’t judge..til you’ve walked a mile in his shoes.” Now please take your polarizing ideas and go away.

  4. Sheesh, so much angst and spite. All you ever see anymore is sacrimonious judging of eachother. What a waste of energy. Seems like everyone is entitled to his beliefs without being crucified at every chance. Let it go.

  5. I am basically non-condemnational 🙂 I find great truths in the teachings of Eckhart Tolle and encouragement spiritually in the potential of quantum physics, human consciousness orgins and study and science done well. I do meditate seriously every day to calm my ever anxious and monkey mind self. I find belonging to a group, no matter how wrong or ill informed they are feels safer than thinking for oneself, but I can’t help that thinking for myself is more important yet more insecure for my personality. I like open minded humans better than those that know the answer to everything and the piously convicted but marginally informed types are off putting to me. I am just me, having made some mistakes and doing the best I can
    Den

  6. I happened upon alot of these wx-WCG boards quite by accident last year. I was instantly sucked in, checked each one every day for months to see everyone’s slant on their experiences. I was never an important person, just a second generationer from the 50’s who saw ALOT of shennanigans in my time. I was kind of a muckraker in my teens, asked too many questions and demanded alot of answers, which I never got many. Yet, I stayed, raised a bunch of kids because it was all I knew. But frankly, I got sick of the politics, got tired of no one “manning up” and taking responsibility for the countless screwups and contradictions. I mostly got sick of the ministry acting omnipotent, even down to most of the local elders. The days of “what I say goes is long over, give me some credit for having half a brain in my head. It is hard to step out over that chasm of free thinking, but I am finding it so hard to believe that in a place such as this (MOGO), one can’t speak one’s mind without being hung out to dry. Like I said, so much angst, so unhealthy to the soul. One thing I still believe is that God WILL set it all straight eventually, and probably not in our lifetime, sorry. Do you all gotta split so many hairs? There are no experts here, so maybe we should not judge and try to validate everyone’s opinions, whether or not you agree with them.

  7. While WCG ministurds were screeching and belching against premarital sex, Herb was messing around with his secretary before he married her. He messed around with his daughter. GTA boasted about the 200 some coed’s he messed around with. Many other HQ ministurds were also playing the field. The ministurd in our church area was swapping wives with other couples. Meridith’s sexual appetite was quit unbalanced (and still is). Armstrongite ministurds are not qualified to be teaching anyone about their sexual lives. This includes those still ‘preaching’ in ALL the 600 some splinter cults. Flurry’s cult has ministers messing around on the side, Meredith’s does, United’s does, and on and on the list can go.

  8. So sad, you were once an example for so many Mr. Diehl. Now you are just bitter and cynical. What happened? What REALLY happened?

Leave a Reply

