Intelligent quote of the day

 “Belong to” I think is a dangerous expression. I belong to no church because the church which is the body of Christ belongs to me. It was given to me as a free gift by Jesus when he died for me on the cross sacrificing that self same body.  So to me it is important to be non-denominational.

—Dougals Gresham, stepson of the late British Christian scholar C.S.Lewis and founder of Rathviden ministries expressing his view about his disbelief in denominations in the June-July 1998 edition of the British Plain Truth magazine

5 thoughts on “Intelligent quote of the day

  1. I don’t like the semantics. I don’t know what it means to say that the church belongs to me, but I don’t belong to the church. I just know that we are meant to be part of the Body of Christ. We all have that invitation. It is our proper home. I also know that I “belong” to my wife, and my wife “belongs” to me. My head “belongs” to my body, and my body “belongs” to my head. My body and soul belong together, to each other

    Would it be more sensible for a person to ask Dougals Gresham which non-denominational church belongs to him? If he believes the Church is an invisible concept, a group of scattered, unorganized believers, then does he have any commitment or accountability whatsoever to a real-life, visible congregation? Or could he not always let his individuality and “personal relationship with Jesus” prevail every time?

    I guess I don’t understand why it’s so important to him that he be non-denominational. It’s not the message I read in Scripture.

  2. You know I disagree and I proudly side with Douglas. He’s just saying he doesn’t need a middleman to get to God. The middleman have done a lot more harm than they do good. I am not picking on only Catholicism but all denominations and religions who do this. I guess you’ll be one of the protesters at the theatres when “Religulous” is released.LOL!!! 🙂

  3. I just wonder, when the apostles spanned the known globe, establishing local churches under their authority in Jesus’ name, whether they knew they were really setting up “middle men” that interfered with a person’s relationship with God.

    I dispute the caricature of the Church as a “middle man.” What does that mean? When Jesus ascended into heaven, did the apostles act as “middle men” that people had to go through in order to reach God?

    Of course there have always been abuses in the organized Church, but who will dare say there are no abuses rampant in non-denominationalism?

    You are correct that I will not be watching Bill Maher’s movie. I don’t see that he’s smart at all.

    I would love to hear Bill Maher say something positive about the faith of “non-denominational” Christianity without any biting sarcasm. I don’t think his criticisms are only against “organized religion.” If he makes fun of the idea of Jesus (as I saw in clips of his movie), for example, he’s not just criticizing organized religion; he’s making fun of anyone who has any belief in our Savior.

  4. I have appreciated Douglas Gresham and found his thinking in a number of areas very fresh. Even though I am very involved in a denominational church I can even see where one can be sour on “denominations.” However, it is quite a significant ecclesiastical stretch to go from a negative view of current church polity to saying that “the body of Christ belongs to me.” As far as the comment that this has to do with his view on human mediation–I find that hard to imagine when someone is as articulate as Mr. Gresham–my sense is that he meant exactly what he said. Therefore, his comment is, at best, unusual.

Leave a Reply

