Intelligent quote of the day

I think that it’s important for each person to be convinced in his own mind, and to act on that conviction. I would hope that he or she would be surrounded by others who would respect that decision, and that he or she would respect the decisions that other people make. There is a lot of judging of others among Christians. For some Sunday observers, Sabbath observance alone is evidence that one is not really a Christian, or doesn’t stand on grace. At the same time, the feeling is widespread among seventh-day Sabbatarians that they have the “right” day, and that those who don’t worship on that day aren’t true Christians. I have come to see that this is a theological and historical error that needs to be rejected, not Sabbath observance per se. The important thing is not when we worship, but that we worship.

—WCG (as well as Swiss Reformed Church) minister Henry Strucke on the issue of “The Sabbath Question” while promoting his book Encountering The Rest of God on Gavin Rumney’s website a few years ago and again on Gavin’s current blog Otagosh in March of this year.

3 thoughts on “Intelligent quote of the day

  1. Amen. I often wondered as WCG was trying to persuade people that they needed let go of “legalism” by changing to Sunday:

    What part of “let each be fully persuaded in his own mind” don’t we understand?

    Keep up the good work – though I may have to disavow all knowledge if my WCG pastor asks… 🙂

  2. Thank you very much John! I think it’s high time to tell your pastor, “It is time for me to go!” As the saying goes, “Free your mind and your behind will follow.” 🙂

  3. Oddly enough, the last time I was offered that particularly sound piece of advice, it was by my pastor. And not all that long ago, either.

    Let’s just say that I have been a soldier, a union local president and am currently writing a paper on thought-reform for a seminary class called “Dynamics of Abuse.” Pastoral and management bluffing have certain characteristics that I have learned to discern and deal with in ways perhaps unique within WCG.

    I discerned early that anti-legalism was a witch-hunt. Much as I desired to see an improved theology in WCG I would have much preferred an open organization that respects the individual. I attempt to remind the local pastor and congregation of the contradictions between what they say they want to do and what they actually do. I think of it as a kind of prophetic witness. So I remain a local (admittedly relatively low-key) advocate for that openness and respect until the powers that be see fit to act – one way or another.

    In the meantime I work (in my admittedly fumbling way) to help people reestablish their individuality – and especially their self-respect. You need a healthy amount of ego to say “no” to unreasonable demands of people with power or to demands backed by social pressure. Those are the most important tools people need to make their own informed decisions. It’s not my job to tell them what those decisions should be. Except perhaps to suggest to them that just letting others tell them what to do is probably not the most creative use of their abilities.

    I realize that from your standpoint what I am attempting is unlikely to solve the immense problems of this organization. You probably believe that the organization is impervious to change. And you are likely correct. I can only hope that some good will come of my attempt for a number people.

    That’s why I respect your work here as well as that of the Exit and Support Network. Engagement with people in systems like this need to take place at many levels and in many ways.

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

